Skip to main content

Research · 18 September 2026

How private ADHD clinics say they diagnose

We read 337 private ADHD clinic websites and recorded, with the quote and the page it came from, what each one publishes about its own assessment. The median clinic publishes 7 of 20 basic facts. 74 of 337 publish all three elements at the centre of the NICE guideline.

Registers pulled 18 September 2026 · Clinic-level data published in full below · CC BY 4.0

337
Clinic websites read
2,259 values, every one quoted
7 of 20
Facts the median clinic publishes
34 publish none
74 of 337
Publish all three NICE core elements
63 of 297 on the adult pathway
102 of 142
Registered locations with no CQC rating
40 hold a quality judgement

What we found

  • Most clinics do not say who will assess you. 193 of 337 sites name any assessing role; 84 name a psychiatrist, 48 name a psychologist and no doctor, and 41 refer only to a “clinician” or “specialist”.
  • Claiming NICE and publishing NICE are different things. 161 sites say they follow the guideline. Of those, 46 publish all three of its core assessment elements — though claimers do describe a developmental history more often than non-claimers (96 of 161 against 59 of 176).
  • Registration is not a rating. 102 of 142 currently registered locations carry no CQC quality judgement at all. The most recent inspection under the previous framework anywhere in this set was 18 October 2023.
  • The sector is young and it churns. 146 of 272 companies behind these clinics were incorporated in 2020 or later. 14 CQC locations closed in 2026 so far against 20 opening — but 7 of those closures belong to clinics that opened another location the same year, which is a move, not an exit.
  • Price does not track the published process. The median adult assessment is £995 (£275 to £2,095). Stated appointment length barely predicts it, and the clinics publishing the least are not the cheapest.

Chapter one

How fast is the private ADHD market growing, and how much of it closes?

146 of the 272 companies behind listed private ADHD clinics were incorporated in 2020 or later, and 52 of them in 2024 or later. On the CQC register, 37 locations belonging to these clinics registered during 2025 and 10 closed; in 2026 to 18 September 2026, 20 registered and 14 closed.

The oldest company in this set was incorporated in 1979. The median one was incorporated in 2020. That is the shape of a sector that assembled itself in about five years, and it explains a good deal of what follows: a young company has not had an inspection cycle, has no long record to publish, and is often one clinician with a website.

Incorporation year of the companies behind listed clinics. Years from 2020 are marked. 2026 runs only to 18 September 2026, so its column is a partial year. The 14 companies incorporated before 2005, the oldest in 1979, are omitted from the chart and listed in the table.
View as a table
Companies House incorporations by year
YearCompanies incorporated
1,9791
1,9971
1,9981
1,9992
2,0011
2,0021
2,0033
2,0044
2,0051
2,0062
2,0074
2,0083
2,0095
2,0102
2,01110
2,0128
2,0133
2,0149
2,01510
2,0165
2,01716
2,01816
2,01918
2,02025
2,02115
2,02221
2,02333
2,02424
2,02520
2,0268

Closures are the part of a young market that is easy to read wrongly. A location leaving the CQC register is not necessarily a clinic failing: 7 clinics both closed one location and registered another during 2026, which is a relocation. What the register does show is a short average tenure. The median currently registered location has been registered for 2.4 years; the median closed one lasted 2.1 years, and 26 of 59 closed locations lasted under two.

31031pre-1818 H219 H220 H221 H222 H223 H224 H225 H226 H2
Locations registered Locations deregistered
CQC registrations (up) and deregistrations (down) per half-year, for locations belonging to listed clinics. Everything before 2018 is collapsed into one column: the register lists what exists or recently existed, so closures further back are undercounted and the early years are not a clean baseline. The second half of 2026 had not begun when the register was pulled.
View as a table
CQC registrations and deregistrations per half-year
PeriodRegisteredDeregistered
before 2018318
2018H100
2018H221
2019H182
2019H241
2020H143
2020H254
2021H110
2021H262
2022H182
2022H2121
2023H1123
2023H2213
2024H182
2024H2223
2025H1130
2025H22410
2026H1118
2026H296

How to check this
Incorporation dates are the date_of_creation column of companies_house.csv, each row carrying the Companies House URL it was read from. Registrations and closures are registration_date and deregistration_date in cqc_register.csv, each with a location_url on cqc.org.uk.

Chapter two

Who is behind the clinics?

265 of 342 listed clinics have a UK company behind them; 77 have none on record, which means a sole trader, a partnership, an NHS body or an overseas entity. Of the 272 companies, 40 list a corporate entity as a person with significant control, and 2 of those parents sit above more than one clinic in this directory.

This is a sector of small, separately incorporated businesses rather than a handful of chains. That has a direct consequence for a patient: there is no group-level complaints route, no shared quality framework and no common definition of what the assessment includes. It also means the register entry is often young — 54 of the companies have traded under a previous name.

The industry code each company chose for itself at Companies House. A company may list more than one, so these do not sum to 272. The codes are self-declared and carry no regulatory weight — they are shown because they are the only description of the business on the public record.
View as a table
Self-declared SIC codes
SIC codeDescriptionCompanies
86900Other human health activities125
86220Specialist medical practice activities102
86210General medical practice activities30
86101Hospital activities6
85590Other education5
82990Other business support services5

How to check this
Company links are in companies_house.csv, with a link_basis column saying how each was established. Corporate parents are corporate_psc_names. No company, parent or director is named on this page; all of it is in the published file, which carries the Companies House URL for every row.

Chapter three

Who carries out a private ADHD assessment?

193 of 337 clinic websites (57%) name the professional role that carries out the assessment. On 84 sites a psychiatrist is named; on 48 a psychologist is named and no doctor is; on 5 a paediatrician and no psychiatrist; on 15 a nurse or pharmacist and neither a doctor nor a psychologist; and on 41 the only description is an unspecified “clinician” or “specialist”. The remaining 144 name no role at all.

NICE is deliberately broad here. Recommendation 1.3.1 of NG87 says ADHD should only be diagnosed by “a specialist psychiatrist, paediatrician or other appropriately qualified healthcare professional with training and expertise in diagnosing ADHD”. A specialist nurse with the right training and expertise falls inside that; so does a clinical psychologist. None of the groups below is non-compliant by virtue of its job title, and this chart is not a quality ranking. What it shows is which sites let a patient know in advance, and 144 of them do not.

  • Psychiatrist named84(25% of 337 sites)
  • Paediatrician named (no psychiatrist)5(1% of 337 sites)
  • Psychologist named (no doctor)48(14% of 337 sites)
  • Nurse or pharmacist named (no doctor or psychologist)15(4% of 337 sites)
  • An unspecified clinician41(12% of 337 sites)
  • No assessing role named144(43% of 337 sites)
One class per site. Where a site names several roles it is counted by the most senior it names, so the classes are mutually exclusive and sum to 337. "No assessing role named" means the pages we read did not say; it does not mean nobody qualified is involved.
View as a table
Assessing role named, by site
What the site namesSites% of sites read
Psychiatrist named8425%
Paediatrician named (no psychiatrist)51%
Psychologist named (no doctor)4814%
Nurse or pharmacist named (no doctor or psychologist)154%
An unspecified clinician4112%
No assessing role named14443%

Counting every role a site mentions rather than one per site gives the vocabulary of the sector. The single commonest term is not a profession at all.

Roles named across all sites; a site naming two roles appears twice, so these exceed the 193 sites that name any role. Roles named by fewer than five sites are in the table.
View as a table
Assessing roles named across all sites
Role namedSites
“Clinician”, “specialist”, unspecified65
Consultant psychiatrist52
Clinical psychologist34
Psychiatrist33
Psychologist29
Specialist nurse14
Paediatrician11
Nurse prescriber7
Assistant psychologist1
Pharmacist prescriber1

A related question is who takes responsibility for the diagnosis once it is made. 47 of 337 sites say who signs it off — the least-published fact of the 20 we looked for.

How to check this
Column assessing_clinician_types in assessment_procedures.csv, with assessing_clinician_types_quote holding the sentence it came from and assessing_clinician_types_source_url the page. Sign-off is diagnosis_signed_off_by, stored as the site’s own words.

Chapter four

What does an assessment contain, measured against NICE NG87?

NICE recommendation 1.3.1 describes a diagnosis made on a full clinical and psychosocial assessment, a full developmental and psychiatric history, and observer reports. 74 of 337 sites publish all three of those elements — naming who assesses, describing a developmental history, and asking for an informant account. On the adult pathway alone it is 63 of 297.

Taken one at a time, the elements are published at very different rates. 155 sites (46%) describe taking a developmental history. 142 (42%) ask for an account from someone who knows the person — a partner, parent or old school report — and 11 of those say it is required rather than helpful. On the adult pathway, 7 sites require one. NG87 lists observer reports as part of the assessment, and for an adult recalling childhood symptoms it is often the only corroboration available.

All 337 sites read Adult pathway only (297 sites)
Share of sites publishing each element. The three highlighted rows are the elements NICE NG87 recommendation 1.3.1 puts at the centre of a diagnosis. The hollow marker is the adult pathway alone, which excludes facts a site states only for children — a site that asks a parent about a child is not thereby asking an adult for an informant.
View as a table
Publication rate of each assessment element
ElementSites (of 337)% of allAdult pathway (of 297)% of adult
Names who does the assessing (NICE core element)19357.3%17057.2%
Takes a developmental history (NICE core element)15546%13244.4%
Asks for an informant or observer account (NICE core element)14242.1%12241.1%
Names an interview schedule or rating scale8826.1%7725.9%
Sends questionnaires before the appointment15846.9%13645.8%
Screens for co-occurring conditions7923.4%7123.9%
Says how long the assessment takes11233.2%10033.7%
Provides a written report23469.4%20468.7%
Uses a computerised attention test7522.3%5819.5%
Says whether it is online or in person18153.7%16655.9%
Says who signs off the diagnosis4713.9%3812.8%
Says it follows the NICE guideline16147.8%13445.1%

Stacking the three core elements gives the distribution below. 84 sites publish none of them and 74 publish all three.

NICE core elements published

How many of the three core elements each site publishes. The elements are: naming who assesses, describing a developmental history, and asking for an informant or observer account.
View as a table
NICE core elements published per site
Core elements publishedSites
0 of 384
1 of 390
2 of 389
3 of 374

Claiming the guideline and publishing it

161 of 337 sites state that they follow NICE guidance. That claim does correlate with publishing more: 96 of 161 claimers describe a developmental history, against 59 of 176 of the rest. But the claim is not a substitute for the detail: 46 of the 161 sites invoking NICE publish all three core elements. A reader who treats “NICE-compliant” as a summary of the process is taking the claim on trust.

Instruments, questionnaires and computerised tests

88 sites name a structured interview or rating scale, most often a version of the DIVA diagnostic interview (65 sites) or the Conners scales (21). NG87 recommendation 1.3.2 is explicit that a diagnosis should not be made solely on rating scale or observational data, and describes scales as helpful added tools. Naming one is a sign of a structured process; it is not a process on its own.

Instruments named by at least two sites. A site may name more than one. DIVA appears in several versions, which are counted separately here and together in the text.
View as a table
Instruments named
InstrumentSites
DIVA-537
DIVA25
Conners21
ACE+9
ACE5
Young DIVA3
ASRS2
CAARS2
Behavioural Inventory of Executive Function1
SNAP-IV1

75 sites mention a computerised attention test, 68 of them a QbTest or QbCheck (40 as a routine part of the assessment, 28 as an option). This is worth reading carefully. NICE HealthTech guidance HTG729 recommends QbTest as an option to help diagnose ADHD in people aged 6 to 17, alongside a standard clinical assessment. For adults, the committee was unable to make a recommendation, citing limited evidence, and said the evidence from under-18s does not generalise. 52 of the sites mentioning one do so on a pathway that covers adults. That is not a finding that they are wrong to use it — a test outside a NICE recommendation is not a prohibited test — but a patient told an assessment includes objective testing may reasonably assume a settled evidence base behind it.

How long it takes

112 of 337 sites state how long the assessment appointment lasts. Among the 106 stating a comparable figure, the median is 120 minutes and the range runs from 50 to 210. 4 state an hour or less; 9 state three hours or more. Appointment length is a description of the session, not of the whole pathway: a short appointment may follow a long questionnaire, and a long one may be the entire process.

Stated length of the assessment appointment (minutes)

Ranges are taken at their midpoint. Excluded: 3 sites giving an open-ended bound ("up to" a figure), which is not a length, and 3 giving one figure for a combined ADHD and autism assessment. Both are in the published data with their original wording.
View as a table
Stated assessment length
Stated lengthSites
60 min or less4
61–9037
91–12040
121–15015
151–1809
over 1801
Open-ended bound, excluded3
Combined ADHD and autism figure, excluded3

35 sites say how many appointments the assessment takes. Where they do, one and two appointments are close to equally common.

How to check this
Each element is one column of assessment_procedures.csv, paired with a _quote and a _source_url. The child-pathway exclusion is the fields_stated_for_child_pathway_only column. NICE NG87 and HTG729 are linked in full under Sources.

Chapter five

Do clinics say the outcome comes on the day, and will a GP take over?

28 of 337 sites say the diagnostic outcome is given at the end of the appointment. 21 of those qualify it — usually “in most cases” or “where possible” — and 7 state it without a qualifier. 5 say the outcome comes after the appointment, and 304 do not address it.

Shared care is the arrangement under which an NHS GP takes over prescribing after a private diagnosis, at NHS cost to the patient. It is voluntary for the GP and many Integrated Care Boards restrict it, so whether a clinic can deliver it is not wholly in the clinic’s hands. The wording reflects that: of the 109 sites that mention shared care at all, 101 make it conditional on the GP agreeing or describe it as something they aim for, 6 word it as an offer, and 2 say it is not available. The remaining 228 sites do not mention it — a silence that bears directly on whether a patient’s costs end with the diagnosis.

  • Conditional on the GP, or described as an aim101(30% of 337 sites)
  • Worded as an offer6(2% of 337 sites)
  • Says it is not available2(1% of 337 sites)
  • Does not mention shared care228(68% of 337 sites)
Shared care wording, as published. Where a site changed between an unconditional and a conditional reading, the conditional reading was recorded: a promise the clinic cannot keep alone should not be counted as one it made.
View as a table
Shared care wording
WordingSites
Conditional on the GP, or an aim101
Worded as an offer6
Not available2
Not mentioned228

On prescribing itself, 145 sites say they prescribe after diagnosis and 42 say they do not; 113 describe a titration or dose-adjustment service. 33 sites say they accept NHS Right to Choose referrals. Right to Choose is an England-only pathway, it needs a GP referral, and an Integrated Care Board may restrict or pause it.

How to check this
Columns same_day_diagnosis_claim, shared_care_stated, post_diagnosis_prescribing_stated, titration_stated and right_to_choose_stated, each with its quote. The corrections file records every shared-care value that was downgraded from an offer to a conditional reading during review.

Chapter six

Who checks private ADHD clinics?

Of 304 clinics within CQC’s remit, 132 match a CQC record and 128 have a currently registered location. Of the 142 currently registered locations, 40 hold one of CQC’s four quality judgements and 102 hold none.

  • Outside CQC's remit (Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland)38(11% of 342 clinics)
  • In remit, not matched to a CQC record172(50% of 342 clinics)
  • Matched, but no currently registered location4(1% of 342 clinics)
  • Registered, with no quality judgement to read89(26% of 342 clinics)
  • Registered, with a rated location39(11% of 342 clinics)
Every listed clinic falls in exactly one segment, so these sum to 342. Read it left to right as the distance between being listed and having a public quality judgement to read.
View as a table
Where the 342 listed clinics sit on the CQC register
GroupClinics
Outside CQC's remit (Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland)38
In remit, not matched to a CQC record172
Matched, but no currently registered location4
Registered, with no quality judgement to read89
Registered, with a rated location39
Total342

Among registered locations, the striking figure is how few have been rated. Registration means a provider has satisfied CQC that it meets the requirements to operate; a rating follows an inspection, and inspections are prioritised by risk and capacity. The unrated locations are mostly recent arrivals: 69 of the 102 registered in 2024 or later. Of the 40 judgements that do exist, 34 are Good, 2 Outstanding and 4 Requires improvement. 15 of the ratings in the file were published under CQC’s single assessment framework; the most recent inspection under the previous framework anywhere in this set was 18 October 2023.

Registered locations with no published quality judgement, by year of registration. 2026 runs to 18 September 2026. A location registered this year would not normally have been inspected yet, so the recent bars are expected; the earlier ones are the question.
View as a table
Unrated registered locations by year of registration
Registered inLocations with no rating
2,0151
2,0191
2,0201
2,0211
2,0228
2,02321
2,02419
2,02531
2,02619
Overall rating of currently registered locations. "Inspected but not rated" and "No published rating" are CQC's own values and are not quality judgements, so they are counted with the unrated.
View as a table
Overall CQC rating of currently registered locations
Overall ratingLocations
Blank in the CQC record100
Good34
Requires improvement4
Outstanding2
No published rating1
Inspected but not rated1

54 sites state on their own pages that they are CQC registered. Our matching corroborates 46 of those against a currently registered location and does not corroborate 7. For the reasons above, a non-corroboration is a statement about our matching rather than a finding that the claim is untrue.

Outside England, 38 listed clinics have all their locations in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland, where CQC has no remit. 12 appear on the Healthcare Improvement Scotland register of independent healthcare services, 10 of them registered and 2 shown as in progress. Healthcare Inspectorate Wales and the RQIA registers are not machine readable and were not pulled.

How to check this
cqc_register.csv carries one row per matched location with match_method, match_confidence, the rating, the inspection date and a location_url that opens the CQC record. cqc_match_status in clinics.csv says why any clinic is unmatched. Scotland is scotland_his_register.csv.

Chapter seven

What does the price buy?

Across 162 clinics publishing an adult assessment price, the median was £995, from £275 to £2,095. What the price tracks is not the amount of published process. It tracks who the clinic says will see you.

one clinic median
Each dot is one clinic's published adult price; the bar is the group median. Groups of fewer than five clinics are omitted. The distributions overlap heavily — these are medians of wide, overlapping ranges, not separate price tiers.
View as a table
Adult assessment price by assessing role named
Role namedClinicsMedianLowestHighest
Psychologist named (no doctor)29£1,195£495£2,095
Psychiatrist named51£995£395£1,975
An unspecified clinician22£772£275£1,660
Nurse or pharmacist named13£720£289£1,500
No assessing role named47£1,000£399£1,995

Delivery format moves the price in the direction you would expect, and by a wide margin. Clinics describing an online-only assessment published a median of £750; those describing an in-person-only assessment, £1,445. Company age does not move it: clinics whose company was incorporated in 2023 or later published a median of £999, against £962 for those incorporated before 2018. The group with no company on record — sole traders and partnerships — published the highest median of the four, at £1,238.

one clinic median
Delivery format as the site describes it, not as we infer it. Only clinics that publish both a format and a price appear.
View as a table
Adult assessment price by stated delivery format and by company age
GroupClinicsMedianLowestHighest
Online only23£750£289£1,495
Online or in person71£995£275£2,095
In person only11£1,445£795£1,950
Company formed 2023 or later73£999£275£2,095
Company formed 2018–202249£950£399£1,950
Company formed before 201840£962£289£1,975
No company on record32£1,238£720£1,995

Clinics matched to a CQC record publish lower prices than unmatched ones, and the gap survives splitting the sample by whether the clinic says it prescribes. That rules out the simplest explanation — that unmatched clinics are assessment-only services charging for a one-off report — without establishing what does explain it. Both cells below are small and both overlap, so read this as a pattern worth checking rather than a result.

View the CQC and prescribing breakdown
Adult assessment price by CQC match and stated prescribing
GroupClinicsMedianLowestHighest
Matched to CQC · says it prescribes55£800£289£1,600
Not matched · says it prescribes28£997£375£1,950
Matched to CQC · does not say it prescribes16£850£399£1,950
Not matched · does not say it prescribes63£1,200£275£2,095

What almost does not move the price is the thing a patient might assume sets it: how long the appointment is. 61 clinics publish both a comparable length and a price. Those stating under two hours published a median of £772 (32 clinics); those stating two hours or more, £1,000 (29). At every length, the spread between clinics is far wider than the difference between lengths.

£0£500£1,000£1,500£2,000306090120150180210Stated length of the assessment appointment (minutes)Published adult price
One dot per clinic. Overlapping dots are clinics publishing the same pair of figures — 90 minutes at a round price is a common combination. Open-ended and combined ADHD-and-autism durations are excluded, as in the histogram above.
View as a table
Stated length against published adult price
Stated minutesPublished adult price
55£950
60£800
75£375
75£695
75£745
75£795
75£800
75£850
80£595
90£275
90£399
90£495
90£495
90£499
90£499
90£500
90£600
90£650
90£695
90£750
90£795
90£1,000
90£1,250
90£1,250
90£1,300
90£1,750
105£550
105£799
105£995
105£1,250
105£1,500
105£2,095
120£289
120£675
120£695
120£899
120£995
120£1,000
120£1,100
120£1,200
120£1,200
120£1,450
135£1,500
150£500
150£675
150£900
150£1,400
150£1,499
150£1,500
150£1,500
150£1,600
150£1,800
165£950
180£720
180£795
180£900
180£950
180£1,000
180£1,145
180£1,950
210£850

How to check this
Prices are the adult_assessment_price_gbp column of clinics.csv, each with the page it was read from and the date it was verified. They were checked in a dedicated sweep in July 2026 and cover one route per clinic — a complete adult diagnostic pathway, not an initial or screening appointment.

Chapter eight

How much can a patient learn before paying?

Counting how many of the 20 facts in this study each site publishes, the median clinic publishes 7. 34 of 337 sites publish none of them on the pages we read. 87 publish ten or more, and the highest published 18.

This is the summary measure the rest of the report builds to. It is a count of published facts, not a quality score: a clinic can publish nothing and assess impeccably. But a patient choosing between two clinics can only choose on what is published, and on a median site there are 13 things they cannot find out without asking.

Facts published, of 20

Each site scores one point per fact it publishes. The median column is marked. The left-hand column is the 34 sites publishing none of the 20.
View as a table
Facts published per site
Facts publishedSites
034
113
218
314
423
526
630
731
838
923
1021
1123
1216
1313
144
156
161
172
181

Two groups publish consistently more. Clinics matched to a CQC record publish a median of 9 facts against 6 for unmatched ones, and clinics that publish a price publish 8 against 6. Neither is causal. The plausible common cause is simply the age and size of the organisation: an established provider has more to say and more staff to say it.

View transparency by group
Median facts published, by group
GroupSitesMedian facts published
Matched to a CQC record1319 of 20
Not matched to a CQC record2066 of 20
Publishes an adult price1628 of 20
Publishes no adult price1756 of 20

How to check this
The score is simply the count of non-empty, non-“not stated” values across the 20 fields of assessment_procedures.csv for that clinic. You can recompute it from the published file in a spreadsheet.

How this was done

What was read
Up to six pages per clinic website — the assessment, pricing, process, team, FAQ and about pages where they exist — 1,759 pages in all, collected in the week to 18 September 2026. 5 of 342 sites could not be read at all and are excluded from every denominator, which is why the base is 337.
How the values were extracted
A language model read the stored page text and proposed a value for each of the 20 fields, with a verbatim quote. A value without a quote that matched the stored page was discarded, not kept. The extraction proposed 2,561 values; 2,259 survived review and are published, every one with its quote and source URL.
How it was reviewed
A second pass re-read the quote alone and could only weaken a value, never strengthen it: an offer could become a conditional, a “yes” could become “not stated”, and the reverse was not permitted. A hand pass then worked through the cases the second pass flagged. Every change is in corrections.csv with its before, after, reason and which pass made it — 464 corrections in total. Publishing the corrections rather than only the corrected file is the point: it is how a reader can audit the direction of our editing.
Registers
Companies House and the CQC syndication API, both pulled on 18 September 2026; Healthcare Improvement Scotland from its published register. Clinics were matched to CQC by location identifier, or by postcode plus a distinctive shared name token. Weak matches were rejected rather than guessed, which makes the matched count a floor.
Links
Every cited URL in the published files was opened again after the files were final, and the result recorded. A handful of clinic sites refuse automated requests and were checked by eye in a browser instead; the data dictionary names them.
Reproducibility
Every number on this page is generated from the published files by a script in our repository, not typed by hand, and cross-checked against a second independent implementation of the same counts before the page builds. If you recompute a figure from the files below and get a different answer, we would like to know.

What this study cannot tell you

  • It measures publication, not practice. Every figure here is about what a clinic says on its website. None of it is evidence about the quality of an assessment, and none of it should be read as a clinical judgement. We list clinics; we do not rate them.
  • Every count is a floor. We read up to six pages per site. A fact stated in a downloadable brochure, a video or a page we did not reach is recorded as not stated.
  • Websites change. This is a snapshot taken in the week to 18 September 2026. Some of these pages will already have been rewritten.
  • Matching is conservative. Unmatched to CQC means we could not corroborate a record, not that none exists. The register itself lists what exists now, so closures well in the past are undercounted.
  • It is a census of a directory, not of the market. These are the 342 clinics listed on this site. There is no public register of private ADHD providers in the UK, so no one can enumerate the whole market, and we make no claim to have done so.
  • One price route per clinic. Prices are a complete adult diagnostic pathway where one is published. Clinics with tiered or bundled pricing are represented by a single figure.

Work this builds on

This is not the first examination of the private ADHD sector, and it deliberately does not repeat the parts others have done better. The Centre for Health and the Public Interest reported in January 2026 on the NHS-funded end of the market, using freedom of information requests to Integrated Care Boards — a route into spending and contracting that no website study can reach. NHS England’s ADHD taskforce reported in November 2025 on demand and capacity across the system. A 2024 survey by a health insurance comparison site collected quoted prices by asking clinics directly, where this study records only what a clinic publishes itself; quoted and published prices need not agree, and the two should not be read as a time series.

What is new here is the clinic-level detail on published assessment procedure, tied row by row to the company and regulator records for the same clinic, with the quote and the URL attached to every value.

Our own earlier study of prices and provision across the UK private ADHD market covers what these assessments cost and how little of that is explained by geography.

Sources

Using this research and the data

Our contribution — this page, the aggregate figures and the compilation — is published under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence. Reproduce the charts and figures, including commercially, with credit.

How to cite: ADHD Private, How private ADHD clinics say they diagnose, 18 September 2026. https://adhdprivate.co.uk/research/uk-private-adhd-assessments-2026

Download

Aggregate figures behind every chart (CSV) — one row per plotted value, with its denominator.

The full clinic-level data is published too: the same files every figure above was computed from, one row per clinic, nothing withheld. Start with the README, which is the data dictionary, the method in full, and the known limits of each column.

Licences within the data. Companies House and CQC content is Crown copyright, reproduced under the Open Government Licence v3.0. The Healthcare Improvement Scotland register text is theirs and is excluded from our CC BY grant — treat it as quotation. Clinic website extracts are reproduced for the purpose of reporting, with a link to the source page in every case.

Corrections. If a row about your clinic is wrong, tell us through contact and we will correct the data, the files and this page, and record the change below. We do not remove a row because a clinic dislikes what its own website says, and we will say so if asked.

Questions

How many private ADHD clinics publish how they assess?
Of 337 clinic websites read on 18 September 2026, the median published 7 of 20 facts about their own assessment. 34 published none of them, and 87 published ten or more. The most widely published fact is that a written report is provided (234 sites); the least published is who signs the diagnosis off (47).
Does NICE say who is allowed to diagnose ADHD?
Yes. NICE guideline NG87, recommendation 1.3.1, says ADHD should only be diagnosed by a specialist psychiatrist, paediatrician or other appropriately qualified healthcare professional with training and expertise in diagnosing ADHD, on the basis of a full clinical and psychosocial assessment, a full developmental and psychiatric history, and observer reports. It is a wide category, not a list of three job titles. Of 337 sites, 193 name any assessing role at all; the other 144 leave it unstated on the pages we read.
How many clinics publish all three parts of the NICE assessment?
74 of 337. Those are the sites that state who assesses, that a developmental history is taken, and that an informant or observer account is sought. On the adult pathway alone, excluding facts a site states only for children, it is 63 of 297. A site that does not publish an element may still carry it out — this measures what is published, not what happens in the room.
Are private ADHD clinics required to register with the CQC?
Only if they treat. The Care Quality Commission's guidance is that a provider offering diagnosis alone, with no treatment, does not need to register, because CQC does not treat diagnosis as treatment. A clinic that also prescribes or manages medication does need to register. That shows in the data: of the 42 sites that say they do not prescribe, 36 are in CQC scope and 35 of those are not matched to a CQC record. CQC covers England only. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are regulated by Healthcare Improvement Scotland, Healthcare Inspectorate Wales and the RQIA.
How many private ADHD clinics hold a CQC quality rating?
Of 142 currently registered locations belonging to listed clinics, 40 hold one of CQC's four quality judgements and 102 hold none. Registration is not inspection, and inspection is not a rating. Most unrated locations are recent: 69 of them registered in 2024 or later.
Does a clinic being unmatched to the CQC register mean it is unregistered?
No, and the difference matters. Matching a directory listing to a public register is done by location identifier, or by postcode plus a distinctive shared name token. Weak matches were rejected rather than guessed, so a clinic can be registered under a company or trading name we did not match. Unmatched means we could not corroborate a record, not that no record exists.
How long does a private ADHD assessment take?
112 of 337 sites state a length. Among the 106 that state a comparable single figure or range, the median is 120 minutes, from 50 to 210. 4 state an hour or less and 9 state three hours or more. Stated lengths that are open-ended ("up to" a figure) and figures covering a combined ADHD and autism assessment are excluded from those numbers and listed separately in the data.
Will my GP take over prescribing after a private diagnosis?
That is between your GP and the clinic, and the wording on clinic sites reflects it. 109 of 337 sites mention shared care at all. Of those, 6 word it as something they offer, 101 make it conditional on the GP agreeing or describe it as an aim, and 2 say it is not available. Shared care is voluntary for a GP and some Integrated Care Boards restrict it.
Why does the price of an assessment vary so much?
This study can rule some explanations in and others out. Across 162 published adult prices the median was £995, from £275 to £2,095. Sites naming a psychologist as the assessor published a median of £1,195; those naming a nurse or pharmacist, £720. Stated appointment length explains very little: the correlation between minutes and price across 61 clinics publishing both is weak.
Can I reuse this research and the underlying data?
Yes. Our contribution is published under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence — credit ADHD Private and link to this page. The clinic-level files behind it are published in full alongside this report, including every quote and its source URL. Companies House and CQC content within them is Crown copyright under the Open Government Licence v3.0, and the Healthcare Improvement Scotland text is excluded from our CC BY grant. Clinic website quotations are reproduced for reporting purposes.

Changes to this report

No corrections have been made since publication on 19 September 2026. Any change to a figure will be listed here with its date and reason, and the published files will be regenerated at the same time.

About this research and how we are funded

ADHD Private is a comparison directory for private ADHD clinics. Patients use it free. We make money from clinics: some pay for a clearly labelled "Featured" placement. We take no commission on bookings or referrals. Paid placement is always labelled and never changes a clinic's position in organic listings or matching results. 9 of the 342 clinics in this study currently pay for placement; they were read, coded, corrected and counted exactly as every other clinic was, and no clinic was contacted before publication.

We are not connected to any similarly named company. In particular, a CQC-registered provider called ADHDPrivate Ltd appears in the data behind this report and has no relationship with ADHD Private or Sellframe Ltd.

Informational only — not medical advice. Clinic details change; verify with the clinic before booking.

Figures as of 18 September 2026. Compare private ADHD clinics.